Is this malpractice?

Recently I had a visit from a mobile phone provider, as my current contract is up for renewal. The sales lady, of the competitor phone company, said she could save me hundreds of pounds off my mobile bill next year. She then proceeded to tell me all about herself, how long she had worked for the company and how good the company was. After that she went on explain that as a new customer I could have the latest mobile phone, she added that she could also help me transfer all the data from my existing phone to the new one.  Image

It should be noted, I don’t really care how long she worked for the company, neither was I fussed about having the latest phone or having help with transferring the data from my existing phone. My biggest problem with my current mobile phone provider is their customer service, as I’ve never been able to get things resolved quickly.
 
Yet this sales lady never asked me once how important that was to me. If she had simply followed the wining formula for any sales call, she would have had the answers she needed and I would have become a new customer for her company.

This got me thinking, if I visited my doctor and without examining me or getting my feedback as to what was wrong, she just wrote out a prescription for drugs; she could be struck off for malpractice for not making the correct diagnosis, due to her negligence in ascertaining what was wrong with me.

How often have you cold called a client or candidate and launched into what’s great about your recruitment company and why the client / candidate should work with you, without first understanding what the clients/candidates needs are. Could you be accused of malpractice?

It has been found that the most successful recruiters follow this wining formula:

  1. Opening – this is where you focus the clients/candidates mind on the conversation that is about to take place.
  2. Gathering – this is essential before presentation. In the gathering stage you begin to understand the problem the client/candidate is experiencing and what are their needs and motivation.
  3. Presenting – this is where we focus on the reasons why the client/candidate will make a buying decision.
  4. Adjusting – this is where we are able to adjust any areas of misunderstanding or disagreement.
  5. Concluding – this is actually, getting the client to give you the assignment or the reason why the candidate should attend the interview.

Anything else is surely just malpractice.

Wishing you continued success.

Terry Edwards

Leave a Reply

